2018 Golden Apple Awards

Second row, from left: Brad Sommer, Stacy Wisse, Keith Haugen in honor of his wife Katie, Kari Holloway, Holly Larson, Dave Reidt, Lars Long, Amy Daw, Beth Mule. Front row, from left: Heather Hernandez, Linda Brown, Deb Schretenthaler, Michelle Hrudka, Celena Smith-Reuter, Angie Nelson, Cathy Steidl, Melissa Greer, Amy CarlsonSather, Sarah Loback, Barb Redman.

The Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation hosted its third annual Golden Apple Awards banquet on Thursday, April 5, 2018 at Wild Ridge & Mill Run Golf Course. The ceremony was emceed and hosted by WEAU’s Bob Gallaher. In January and February, WEAU partnered with the Foundation to bring cameras to surprise honorees in their buildings with the news of their selection, and Bob and his team compiled the footage to create a touching video for the banquet.

The evening celebrated one Golden Apple Award honoree from each of the twenty schools in the Eau Claire Area School District, selected by nomination of their peers. Each honoree receives a $500 grant to use in their schools/classrooms, and each school also receives a $500 grant to their Fund For Today, sponsored by generous businesses in the Chippewa Valley. The event is an annual partnership with businesses to celebrate and show appreciation for exceptional faculty and staff in the district.

Chippewa Valley Montessori Charter School honors Amy Daw, School Secretary
Sponsored by Charter Bank

DeLong Middle School honors Lars Long, teacher on special assignment
Sponsored by C&M Homebuilders and Real Estate

Flynn Elementary School honors Deb Schretenthaler, Kindergarten Teacher
Sponsored by Marshfield Clinic & Security Health Plan

Lakeshore Elementary School honors Linda Brown, Reading and Literacy Coach
Sponsored by Sylvan Learning

Locust Lane Elementary School honors Brad Sommer, 4th Grade Teacher
Sponsored by Xcel Energy

Longfellow Elementary School honors Holly Larson, Partnership Coordinator
Sponsored by Kristo Orthodontic Specialists

Manz Elementary School honors Heather Hernandez, Kindergarten Teacher
Sponsored by Indianhead Foodservice Distributor

Meadowview Elementary School honors Sarah Loback, 1st Grade Teacher
Sponsored by UWEC College of Education and Human Sciences

Memorial High School honors Celena Smith-Reuter, French Teacher
Sponsored by Royal Credit Union

McKinley Charter School honors Beth Mulé, Competency Component Teacher
Sponsored by Student Transit

North High School honors Dave Reidt, School Counselor
Sponsored by McDonald’s Courtesy Corporation

Northstar Middle School honors Amy CarlsonSather, Social Studies Teacher
Sponsored by Wipfli

Northwoods Elementary School honors Michelle Hrudka, 2nd Grade Teacher
Sponsored by McDonough Manufacturing Co.

Prairie Ridge Early Learning Center honors Kari Holloway, EC4T Head Start Teacher
Sponsored by Trust Point, Inc.

Putnam Heights Elementary School honors Melissa Greer, 4th Grade Teacher
Sponsored by Marsh & McLennan Agency

Robbins Elementary School honors Barb Redman, 3rd Grade Teacher
Sponsored by Ken Vance Motors

Roosevelt Elementary School honors Stacy Wisse, Kindergarten Teacher
Sponsored by Mayo Clinic Health System

Sam Davey Elementary School honors Katie Haugen, Special Education Teacher
Sponsored by Marine Credit Union

Sherman Elementary School honors Angie Nelson, 1st Grade Teacher
Sponsored by Market & Johnson

South Middle School honors Cathy Steidl, Math Teacher
Sponsored by Northwestern Bank

Many thanks to Bob Gallaher and WEAU for their dedication, time, coverage and service to this great cause; to Sacred Heart Hospital for their gift of design and print services; to Capital Husting for their gift of wine for the banquet dinner; and to Eau Claire Area School District for their loyal support of the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, and their support of the district faculty and staff! Save the date for the 2019 Golden Apple Awards: Thursday, April 11, 2019.

For more information about the Golden Apple Awards or to make a gift to the Eau Claire Public Schools Foundation, contact Executive Director, Sarah French at sfrench1@ecasd.us or (715) 852-3015. You can also visit their website at www.ecpsfound.org.